Western Association of Fish
& Wildlife Agencies
Summer 2014 Meeting | Winter 2015 Meeting
Western Bird Conservation Committee

Statement of Purpose:

"The purpose of a Western Bird Conservation Committee within the Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies is to:

  • Provide a forum for states and provinces within the WAFWA to discuss bird conservation issues;
  • Provide a forum for input by western bird conservation partners;
  • Provide regional advice to the AFWA Bird Conservation Committee on Western bird conservation issues;
  • Provide a forum to address congressional funding needs for bird conservation, such as NAWCA, Farm Bill and others".

Committee Duties

  • Solicit and determine items for committee meeting agenda (May).
  • Provide Secretary with final agenda (June).
  • Chair the committee meeting, direct discussion (July).
  • Vice-Chair to arrange for recording the minutes of the committee meeting (July).
  • Vice-Chair to develop a report for the business meeting of the action items from the committee.
  • Present an oral committee report at the annual business meeting (July).
  • Turn in typed committee minutes to the Secretary at the annual business meeting for attachment to the minutes.
  • Complete committee action items identified at the annual meeting (on going).
  • Report at the mid-winter meeting, if requested by the directors (January).
  • Chair to serve as the Director Sponsor for the Range-wide Interagency Sage-grouse Conservation Team.

Chair

Kenneth Mayer
Nevada Department of Wildlife
1100 Valley Rd.
Reno, Nevada  89512
Phone: 775-688-1599
Fax: 775-688-1207
Email: kemayer@ndow.org

Vice-Chair

San Stiver
Sage Grouse Framework Team
2184 Richard St.
Prescott, AZ 86301
Phone:  928-443-5158
Email: stiver@cableone.net

Members:

Jim Allen, (AB): james.allen@gov.ab.ca
Dale Rabe, (AK): dale.rabe@alaska.gov
Eric Gardner, (AZ): egardner@azgfd.gov
Eric Loft,(CA): eloft@dfg.ca.gov
David Klute, (CO): david.klute@state.co.us
Scott Fretz, (HI): scott.fretz@hawaii.gov
Rex Sallabanks, (ID): rsallabanks@idfg.idaho.gov
Joe Kramer, (KS): joek@wp.state.ks.us
Rick Northrup, (MT): rnorthrup@mt.gov
Aaron Robinson, (ND): acrobinson@nd.gov
Kirk Nelson, (NE): kirk.nelson@nebraska.gov
Joel Jorgensen, (NE): joel.jorgensen@ngpc.ne.gov
Hira Walker, (NM): hira.walker@state.nm.us
Laura Richards, (NV): lrichard@ndow.org
Alan Peoples, (OK): apeoples@odwc.state.ok.us
Ron Anglin, (OR): ronald.e.anglin@state.or.us
Chad Switzer, (SD): chad.switzer@state.sd.us
Heather Whitlaw, (TX): heather.whitlaw@tpwd.state.tx.us
Eric Larson, (UT): ericlarson@utah.gov
Rocky Beach, (WA): beachrjb@dfw.wa.gov
John Emmerich, (WY): john.emmerich@wgf.state.wy.us
Jay Lawson, (WY): jay.lawson@wgf.state.wy.us

Minutes
© Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies
Website Design & Management by Delaney Meeting and Event Management