Western Association of Fish
& Wildlife Agencies
Summer 2015 Meeting | Winter 2015 Meeting
Wild Sheep Working Group

Statement of Purpose and Structure:

"To identify priority topics and management challenges to wild sheep in the western U.S. and Canada; to collaboratively develop solutions to those challenges; and to foster strong relationships between wild sheep agencies and wild sheep advocates."

Formed in January 2007, the WSWG was tasked with developing a comprehensive, west-wide assessment of all facets of wild sheep management in the western U.S. and Canada. The initial assignment was to develop WAFWA recommendations for management of domestic sheep and goats in wild sheep habitat.

The WSWG is comprised of a representative from each WAFWA state, province, and territory (N=19) with wild sheep, plus representatives from the U.S. Forest Service and the Bureau of Land Management. The WSWG meets twice/year, in conjunction with the WAFWA summer meeting and the Wild Sheep Foundation (formerly Foundation for North American Wild Sheep FNAWS) annual convention.

Chair:

Clay Brewer
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
28 County Road 458
Rochelle, Texas 76872
(325) 463-5001 Office
(512) 217-3908 Cell
E-mail: clay.brewer@tpwd.state.tx.us

Members:

Jim Allen, (AB): james.allen@gov.ab.ca
Becky Schwanke, (AK): becky.schwanke@alaska.gov
Bob Henry, (AZ): bhenry@azgfd.gov
Helen Schwantje, (BC): helen.schwantje@gov.bc.ca
Tom Stephenson, (CA): tstephenson@dfg.ca.gov
Janet George, (CO): janet.george@state.co.us
Dale Toweill, (ID): dtoweill@idgf.state.us
Tom Carlsen, (MT): tcarlsen@mt.gov
Mike Cox, (NV): mcox@ndow.org
Brett Wiedmann, (ND): bwiedmann@nd.gov
Todd Nordeen, (NE): todd.nordeen@nebraska.gov
Eric Rominger, (NM): eric.rominger@state.nm.us
Don Whittaker, (OR): don.whittaker@state.or.us
John Kanta, (SD): john.kanta@state.sd.us
Froylan Hernandez, (TX): froylan.hernandez@tpwd.state.tx.us
Anis Aoude, (UT): anisaoude@utah.gov
Donny Martorello, (WA): martodam@dfw.wa.gov
Doug McWhirter, (WY): doug.mcwhirter@wgf.state.wy.us
Troy Hegel, (YK): troy.hegel@gov.yk.ca
Melanie Woolever, (USFS): mwoolever@fs.fed.us
Tom Rinkes, (BLM): Tom_Rinkes@blm.gov
Kevin Hurley, (WSF): khurley@wildsheepfoundation.org

Director Sponsor:

Jim Karpowitz, (UT): jimkarpowitz@utah.gov

Documents:
Minutes:
Jurisdictional Management Plans:
Wild Sheep
Alaska Department of Fish & Game
http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=librarycollections.wildlifemanagement

Alberta Fish & Wildlife Division
http://srd.alberta.ca/FishWildlife/WildlifeManagement/documents/WildlifeMgmtPlan-BighornSheep-Jul1993.pdf

British Columbia
Status of the Rocky Mountain Bighorn Sheep in British Columbia (pdf)

British Columbia
Status of the California Bighorn Sheep in British Columbia (pdf)

British Columbia
Status of Thinhorn Sheep in British Columbia (pdf)

California Department of Fish & Game
http://www.dfg.ca.gov/snbs/

Colorado Division of Wildlife
http://www.wildlife.state.co.us/SiteCollectionDocuments/DOW/WildlifeSpecies/Mammals

Idaho Department of Fish & Game
http://fishandgame.idaho.gov/public/wildlife/?getPage=249

Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife, & Parks
http://fwp.mt.gov/wildthings/management/bighorn/plan.html

Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
Bighorn Sheep Management Approach (pdf)

Nevada Department of Wildlife
http://www.ndow.org/about/pubs/plans/bighorn_management_plan.pdf

New Mexico Department of Game & Fish
http://wildlife.state.nm.us/conservation/bighorn/documents/ManagementPlanList.htm

Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife
http://www.dfw.state.or.us/wildlife/management_plans/docs/sgplan_1203.pdf

South Dakota Department Game, Fish, & Parks
http://gfp.sd.gov/wildlife/management/plans/default.aspx

Utah Division of Wildlife Resources
http://wildlife.utah.gov/hunting/biggame/pdf/bighorn-plan.pdf

Wyoming Game and Fish Department
http://gf.state.wy.us/wildlife/sheep/index.asp

Government of Yukon Dept. of Environment
http://www.env.gov.yk.ca/mapspublications/documents/N-Richardson_Sheep_Mgmt_Plan_DRAFT_2008.pdf

Mountain Goats

British Columbia Ministry of Environment
http://a100.gov.bc.ca/pub/eirs/viewDocumentDetail.do?fromStatic=true&repository=BDP&documentId=10300
© Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies
Website Design & Management by Delaney Meeting and Event Management